The song I love

Amazing Grace is one of the prettiest hymns I’ve ever heard. And I like hearing it in many different genres. The depth of meaning to the words as a believer is hard to quantify.

Yesterday in church, we sang Chris Tomlin’s version of this hymn.
He’s added a line to the chorus that really struck at my heart:

My chains are gone, I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy reigns
Unending love, amazing grace.

Click here to hear the whole song.

God can remove any bondage, chains, or issues that keep us from fully experiencing His grace and the peace and joy that comes with freedom. His son was the ransom that paid for all our sins from the littlest white lies to our biggest ugly behaviors.

That is so big, but when I heard this part of the chorus Sunday, I just started weeping. I thought about the many people who I’ve personally witnessed whose chains have clanked to the floor. Is there any better way to understand God’s mercy than to watch a slave being freed?

The freedom from bondage is unfathomable for those who still live under a false identity, or other type of bondage (emotional, physical, spiritual). For all the freed slaves I’ve seen, there are many more who I watch that are embittered, defeated, and many times unintentional slaves to sins that Christ’s already paid with His blood.

2 Peter 2:19 (NIV) says “They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity — for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him.”

It is for them that I hurt today, but I thank God for His promise of grace to all who are ready to be free.

Eph 1:7 (KJV) In whom we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of his grace;

Leave a Reply

