The truth about lies – Part 3

I could say that because I’m getting older now and working fulltime that I don’t have the energy or time to grow in my faith or share my faith with others.

It’s true that as I age, it takes a bit longer to do things than before and I do run out of energy a bit more quickly, but to live my life with that thought in mind is the same as lying to myself.

What we believe about ourselves is the way we live our life.

You might be thinking “huh?”, but what I mean is that we are very easily swayed by our own thoughts. If you think you’re too busy, too old, too tired to do something, you’re right. We do what we believe.

Here’s another example; for years I thought I was fat. For those who know me they would say “no way.” I’m not heavy, even in the slightest. I am 5’8″ and before kids, weighed maybe 123lb. dripping wet. Every time I looked in the mirror though, I saw a fat person. I’d always heard that mirrors didn’t lie, so I believed I was what the mirror was showing me: A fat person.

People would try to persuade me that I wasn’t, but to no avail. I was firmly rooted in that lie. And, consequently, I thought as heavy people probably do. I felt ugly, inferior, and unlovable. After I started having kids, I would always ask others if I looked fat and even though they said I didn’t, I was convinced they were lying to me and worse, I made negative comments about myself, so much so, that my daughters grew up with a mom who could barely stand herself.

And the worst part was that this wasn’t the only lie I believed about myself.

Believing that lie and many others, kept me from experiencing true happiness, joy, and peace through Christ. The lie stole many years from me that I’ll never get back. And, the lies stole something else: My trust of others, my love for myself and others, and any hope that I could be anymore than what I believed.

I understand today that any lie I believe about myself is an attempt by Satan to keep me away from true relationship with God. The only way Satan can flourish and wreak havoc in my life is to keep me believing a lie(s).

John 8:44 says “He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”

2 Corinthians 4:4 — In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.

God is the author of truth.

John 14:6 says “Jesus said unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.”

I John 5:19 — We know that we are from God, and the whole world lies in the power of the evil one.

Once I started reading the bible in earnest, God’s truth came pouring off the pages and into my life. Talk about a transformation.

It’s been a long (many, many years) process, but the way I think, the way I act and the way I respond to others is completely different now because I’m rooted in the truth. And, it seems in the last few months of empty-nesting, the floodgates of truth are wide open.

So I weigh a bit more after a few kids, and I’m older and tired, but I’m also wiser and free to explore God’s complete will in my life now that I live in the truth.

Leave a Reply

