The operating system

Photo by Teach-ICT

Believers are hard-wired a bit differently than other people.
Some believers might be called “weird,” others might be called believers “holy-rollers,” and back in the day, Christians were called “Jesus freaks.”

But, the thing that separates true believers from all other people is their operating system.

You might be thinking about what I mean by that.

I’ll try to explain this in the easiest analogy I can. It’s similar to one I heard in a sermon a few months ago, but it fits very well with our culture.

When we accept Christ as our personal savior, the Holy Spirit becomes our operating system. It will never go bad, crash or get a virus.

It has no backup either.
It doesn’t need one because when we ask for forgiveness for our shortcomings, our failures and our failings, it wipes the system and the disks clean, every time, so it’s just like it was the day it was first installed.

I first became a Christian when I was in 4th grade, but I didn’t understand about the holy spirit being the operating system. In fact, there was no such thing as an operating system because computers were still just NASA equipment that we only got to hear about.

After many, many years of trials, heartaches and failures (all under my own doing), I found out that rather than just accept Jesus as my savior, I needed to let him be in charge of me. As much as I had hosed up my life though, I just couldn’t see myself giving EVERYTHING over to God, so I instead picked and chose those things I wanted him to handle.

In computer lingo, that would be like installing an application or program on your computer. You can access it easily but it’s compartmentalized to an icon on the desktop where you click it to access it.

The problem with that approach is that after you’ve tried program after program, app after app, and have been dissatisfied with the results, you are likely to uninstall them or exchange them for some other program that promises good results.

The only way to let the holy spirit work in you and transform your life is to get a new operating system.

Since I upgraded to my operating system, it’s amazing how much better I run. All the things I do in a day, a week, a month, a year, are run automatically by the operating system so all I have to do is turn the computer on and let it go.

2 Corinthians 5:17 (KJV) – 17 17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

Leave a Reply

