The one I serve


Matt 6:24 (KJV) says “No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.”

My life as a Christian should be dependent upon God. That means that He should be giving me direction in all the areas of my life (operating system logic), only, I keep forgetting that I’m just a bit player in a much larger story — God’s story.

I keep forgetting because the culture tells me that I’m an important person, that I can “have it MY way,” that I can “just do it!” and, “I can be ANYTHING I want to be.” The culture also tells me that to follow God is “old-fashioned, out of date, and believing in a fairy tale.”

It is so easy to fall into that trap, but Satan is the ruler of the earth, the culture, and every corrupt idea, belief, and action. He is the ultimate deceiver who uses the lies of “self-satisfaction,” “self-indulgence” and “immediate self-gratification” to turn me from the truth of my creator.

When I seek my desires over God’s will for my life, I become enslaved to those desires. But again, the culture and even my friends tell me it’s okay to indulge. Heck, I’ve told people the same thing, but now I am re-thinking that. Rather than justify what I’m doing, I think I should question my real motivations behind what I’m wanting to do.

Like, why do I need to buy a new pair of shoes? Sometimes, it really is a need. A few weeks ago, my flats aboslutely lost all shape and my feet wouldn’t stay in them. But, I can tell you, I’ve been looking for flats for almost two years now and everytime I go into a shoe store, there are so many choices and so many that I seriously want that it clouds my judgment of what I really need.

But, I make other purchases for things that I don’t need and that I just think I’d look good in or that I justify by saying that since I’m working and pulling my weight, I should have the freedom to spend my money the way I want. There are even some times that I make silly purchases just because I’m bored or needing a distraction.

That’s so self-centered, self-indulgent of me and it leaves no room for God.

I’m not saying that God doesn’t want us to have things, but it goes back to me in the shoe store. I can honestly need a new pair of shoes yet leave the store with several pairs that I didn’t need.

I think I have freedom to buy “at will” because I make enough to do that, but is that really freedom?
To buy three pairs of shoes when I only needed one and then justifying the purchase of other two pairs? It seems I’m a slave to my desire when I do that.

I don’t want to be a slave to things that fall apart, go out of style, or that come in 3 different colors.
I’d rather be a slave to the one who created me, the one that created me to live in His bigger story.

Romans 6:18 (KJV) – Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

Leave a Reply

