The simplicity of salvation

Becoming a Christian is simple. The bible says so.

So why is it that so many religions complicate faith and salvation by the practice of rituals and traditions, and reciting pre-written prayers?
If you’re practicing any of those things are you doing it because you think it’s what God wants you to do, or that somehow, performing those things will save you?

If so, you’re on the wrong path. Scripture is very clear about the simplicity of salvation.

Ephesians 2:8 (KJV) -For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

1 Timothy 2:5 (KJV) – For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;

John 14:6 (KJV) – Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

God doesn’t have a checklist of “to-do’s” for salvation that He keeps on all of us. Rather He has a book. It either has our name in it or it doesn’t, period.

Revelation 20:15 (KJV) says: And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.

That’s pretty self-explanatory too. Scary, but pretty dang easy to understand. So why are there so many books and blogs written by men and women that talk about ways to really know God, worship God, love God?

People find it easy to read these types of things and often use them instead of the bible when they are going through difficult, uncertain times. There are probably some verses that are referenced in these books, but it is man’s interpretation of the verse(s) and their ideas about how you should live, but if they don’t direct you back to the scriptures, they are misleading you into a false sense of salvation.

In doing this, “man” has complicated faith and is profiting from sharing “his own understanding” of scripture. I don’t think all religious books written by men or women are bad, but they must be aligned with scripture. It is the litmus test for truth.

I used to have a really hard time understanding the bible, but the more that I die to myself, my desires, my self-centeredness, the more clear the bible is to me. I don’t know if it’s that way for other people, but that’s the way it’s been for me. For the last several years, I could understand most of the NIV bible, but now I can read the KJV and understand almost everything thing that is written.

I believe that once you let the Holy Spirit into your life (every part of your life), God will reveal Himself to you through scripture. You don’t need any of man’s ideas about the interpretation or application of scripture for your personal walk of faith.

I believe the word of God. It is my guide for daily living and I won’t be swayed or convinced by any man or woman on earth that I need to be doing anything more than what the bible says.

I implore my friends and family to get into the word — God’s word. It is the primary way He communicates with us. The more you read it, the more you’ll understand it.

1 Timothy 4:1 (KJV) – Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils;

2 Corinthians11: 1-4 (KJV)
1 Would to God ye could bear with me a little in my folly: and indeed bear with me.
2 For I am jealous over you with godly jealousy: for I have espoused you to one husband, that I may present you as a chaste virgin to Christ.
3 But I fear, lest by any means, as the serpent beguiled Eve through his subtilty, so your minds should be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.
4 For if he that cometh preacheth another Jesus, whom we have not preached, or if ye receive another spirit, which ye have not received, or another gospel, which ye have not accepted, ye might well bear with him.

Leave a Reply

