The Psalms

The Psalms are some of the most comforting chapters of the bible because I can relate to David. He’s human to me.
He is transparent in his brokenness and in his walk of faith.

This morning, my heart was so heavy. I am in angst over a situation for which I have NO control. I say that I trust the Lord, but then I complain; bitterly at times. Kind of like David.

Lord, why are MY prayers unanswered? Why won’t you intervene? Why don’t you answer MY prayer MY way in MY time?

Then, I am disgusted with myself for thinking this way and talking this way to God, my father. He who knows all things. And He reminds me who the “real” enemy is.

Psalm 13 (KJV) – The deserted soul
How long wilt thou forget me, O Lord?
For ever? how long wilt though hide thy face from me?
How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily?
How long shall mine enemy be exalted over me?
Consider and hear me, O Lord my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death;
Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him;
and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved.
But I have trusted in thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in thy salvation.
I will sing unto the Lord, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.

I CAN relate. Or rather, God understands my pain.

Thank you, Lord.

Psalm 143 (KJV) – The prayer of a soul in distress

Particularly verses. 8-12 –
…cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning;
For in thee I do trust; cause me to know the way wherein I should walk;
For I lift up my soul unto thee.
Deliver me, O Lord, from mine enemies; I flee unto thee to hide me.
Teach me to do thy will; for thou art my God: thy spirit is good;
Lead me into the land of uprightness.
Quicken me, O Lord, for thy name’s sake:
For thy righteousness sake bring my soul out of trouble.
And of thy mercy cut off mine enemies, and destroy all them that afflict my soul: for I am thy servant.

No matter what form evil takes, whether it be in the flesh of a family member or friend, I must remember that evil is the enemy, NOT the person.
And God is my fortress and my defender against such a force, but that through the power of His Holy Spirit, the enemy can have no hold over me.

I am so thankful that God left us with His word, His truth and His promises.
I’m clinging to those today.

Leave a Reply

