The language of prayer

Image

 In regular conversation between humans, and animals, there’s a “call” and an “answer.” One calls, the other responds. This is the way we should pray as well.

I know for me, I’ve called God alot and told Him of my troubles, my concerns, my anguish, but I haven’t so often opened dialogue with “God, I need to hear (an answer) from you. I don’t know what you want me to think, feel, respond. Direct me in your word. Show me what you want me to know, learn, do.”

The Psalms were written as David’s prayers to God, but the first one isn’t a prayer. It’s more of a meditation. A time where he deliberately thought about God and what it looks like to live a righteous life.

Meditation is also an important aspect of prayer. People meditate everyday without even realizing they’re doing it. Every thought, dream, plan, and desire we have are forms of meditation. And, the things we meditate on form us.

I’ve spent countless hours thinking about, dreaming over, and planning through almost everything in my life, but not through the lens of God’s desire for me. Rather I’ve thought about what “I” wanted to do, what makes “me” happy, or how “I” could change to do things better or differently. It hadn’t occurred to me that I was firmly entrenched in meditating mainly on myself and under my own power.

I’d left no room for God. And worse yet, my ideas often didn’t turn out quite like I dreamed they would and others completely flamed out.

As I learn more about meditation and prayer, I want to focus on righteous living as David did and practice letting God direct me in prayer, rather than always calling on him with all my problems.

Psalm 1: 1-2 says “Blessed is the man that walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful, but his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.”

This will definitely be a change for me, but I am excited to see what God will do. He’s the master of transformation, but sometimes His methods are hard to understand, yet I will remain open to His desire for me.

Leave a Reply

