The purpose of scripture


2 Timothy 3

This is a really meaningful chapter, especially when you view it through the lens of our current culture.

It describes how people in latter days will act (vs. 2-5), what they think of God’s power (vs. 6-8), and their folly (vs. 9).

Verse 5 is particularly interesting in that it says “…having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof; from such turn away.”

I would describe many church leaders this way. In my hometown, anyhow. But further on into the passage, it talks about defending the faith and how the scriptures are intended to be used. Vs. 15-17 says “15 And that from a child thou has known the holy scriptures, which are able to make thee wise unto salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. 16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness; 17 that the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.”

It is a challenge to find a church that uses scripture this way. Ten years ago, my home church taught this way. I can remember leaving church on many occasions feeling convicted and having to really consider my lifestyle, my thinking, my actions.

Nowadays, if I attend that same church, I may or may not hear a snippet of scripture, but I will definitely come away with feel-good fuzzy feelings.

I don’t mean that we can’t find comfort, strength and encouragement from God’s word. We certainly can, but in our current world, God’s word is twisted, edited or ignored and it’s used primarily for our glorification.

Today, believers who speak God’s truth and live by it are called judgmental, hypocritical, and mean. Where once, God’s word was used to guide our behavior and bring about healthy change, it is instead turned against the believer who is hated and is thought to be dangerous.

To be a true believer, you don’t fit in this world (culture), you will be hated, and you may end up paying for your faith with your life but what better way to live than for the glory of the kingdom. Matthew 10:22 says “And you shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake: but he that endureth to the end shall be saved.”

I am praying mightily for and encouraging my family, friends and others, to prayerfully consider the teaching they get from their churches.

Matthew 7:13-14 says, “13 Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leads to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: 14 Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leads to life, and few there be that find it.”

I don’t mean if you’re in a mega-church that you’re listening to false teaching, but I am asking that you really start paying attention. Thanks to the world wide web, there is a wealth of good, solid bible teaching/instruction at your fingertips. Start researching the doctrine and theology of the church you attend and match it against scripture. It’s the only doctrine there is. Any deviation, twisting or omission of God’s word is a false teaching.

Look for other sources for biblical teaching rather than just in your hometown. If you’re like me, you may be hard-pressed to find a church who meets God’s criteria, but you can find good pastors online or in smaller churches who use the bible as their only doctrine.

According to Psalm 119:105, God’s word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.

I believe God’s word.

It is our guide, the very blueprint for our lives. I don’t need any other book to tell me how to live. God’s covered it all.

I’m just kicking myself for spending SO many years reading books on parenting, living happily, getting closer to God, when relying on God and believing His word, would’ve gotten me through all of that.

Today Lord, I trust you like none other. There is NO other truth than yours. John 14:16 Jesus said I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Leave a Reply

